SummaryBuilt in 1932, this reinforced concrete commercial building combines stripped Classical and Art Deco design features. The low-pitched roof is hidden behind a stepped parapet with strong horizontal detailing, and the rough-cast plaster façade is relieved by three rectangular inset panels. Behind the facade are two separate shops.
Newspaper advertisements from 1932 show that J. W. Christmas was operating a pork butchery in one of the shops, and that in May 1932 Mrs A. Brook opened a dressmaking and millinery business in the neighbouring shop.SourcesBay of Plenty Times, 19 February 1932Bay of Plenty Times, 12 May 1932,
Kaitiakitanga StatementWe ask that, in addition to normal copyright and privacy considerations, users of our heritage resources uphold the mana and dignity of the people, communities and places depicted within.CopyrightTe Ao Mārama - Tauranga City LibrariesLicenseCC BY 4.0AcknowledgementTe Ao Mārama - Tauranga City Libraries, 1932 Devonport Road Building, 1932- (Place)