| Adams Cottage, at 4 Adams Avenue, Mount Maunganui, was built in 1906 by John Cuthbert Adams (1854-1932) as a holiday bach. Reflecting the ‘carpenter gothic’ style, the simple gable-ended timber cottage originally had a basic layout with bedrooms off the living area and a double-sided fireplace.
The cottage was inherited by Lionel Adams in 1932 and remained in the family until 1976. For a decade, Gordan and Lena Farrelly operated it as a private museum before selling it to Bill and Marian Young in 1985. For a time there was talk of it relocating across the road to the campground but it remains where it was first built to this day. |