Date1940sReference NumberPhoto 99-473DescriptionAerial view looking south west onto Tauranga's Te Papa peninsula. On bottom right of the photo, at the eastern end of 1st Avenue, fencing enclosing Tauranga's sea baths is visible. Erected and opened in 1885, the baths were composed of a wooden pavilion of 8 changing rooms and a 120 ft x 100 ft fenced enclosure in the harbour. This area was known as Tunk's Point after Captain Tunks, a retired Imperial Army Officer. Taken and donated to the Tauranga Library by Rendell, Alfred Hugh 1917-2019, author of "Rendell's Tauranga, Historic Tauranga from above", a well known local photographer as was his father Robert John Rendell 1875-1941 before him. Originally identified as image 2565-3. Source of AcquisitionRendell, Alfred Hugh, 1917-2019 Photographer/CreatorRendell, Alfred Hugh, 1917-2019
Asset Location
Roomoriginal not held
Usage
Kaitiakitanga StatementWe ask that, in addition to normal copyright and privacy considerations, users of our heritage resources uphold the mana and dignity of the people, communities and places depicted within.Cultural/Ethical StatusNoaRestrictionsNo cultural/ethical restrictions apply. However, copyright applies.CopyrightRendell, Alfred Hugh, 1917-2019AcknowledgementTe Ao Mārama - Tauranga City Libraries Photo 99-473